Mike’s “Self-Indulgent Spring/Summer 2011” makes a stop at the Chateau Laurier

The Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Mike Cullen is a young public servant who is also a regular contributor to (Cult)ure Magazine as a music editorialist. His passions include music, coffee, writing, travel and comic books.

I’ve got what I’ve dubbed the Self-Indulgent Spring/Summer 2011 on the go: I’m making the next few months about me.

As a result, I’m doing some big things (like a trip to Australia in August), and some smaller things, such as spending a night at an historic landmark… the Fairmont Chateau Laurier.

The Chateau Laurier has always been on my list of hotels that I’d like to stay at. Being the practical hotel lover that I am though, I could never really justify the expense of staying even in a standard room at the Chateau.

The lobby of the Fairmont Chateau Laurier (via Anavrin on Flickr)

That was, before Self-Indulgent Spring/Summer 2011.

So I booked a night recently, and off I went with a bottle of good Bordeaux and take-out Thai in hand (the dichotomy of the room and the beverage/food selection was done on purpose).

For anyone that has ever stepped foot into the lobby of the Chateau Laurier knows that the word grandeur doesn’t quite describe it, but it’ll do in a pinch. Strangely though, despite the ornate look of the lobby, the rooms aren’t really that over-the-top; which is a good thing.

Quick snapshot of Mike's room at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier

I wasn’t expecting to be treated like royalty on this visit, and the fact that the rooms are a little more understated certainly made it feel more like a place you wanted to stay, and not a room where you’d be afraid to touch anything.

The only real downside was the size of the room. It was probably a little smaller than the standard sized rooms at the Lord Elgin, but was laid-out a lot better, including a fantastic wing-back chair that I contemplated trying to walk out with. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and aside from own bed, was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Mike has a healthy obsession for hotel bathrooms. He's not the only one.

By now everyone knows of my obsession for hotel bathrooms after my review of Hotel Indigo a few months ago. The Chateau Laurier’s was quite honestly one of my favorites. Bright, clean and very spacious, it actually kind of makes me want to have a bathroom just like it when I finally buy a place of my own one day.

Overall, my stay at the Chateau Laurier exceeded my every expectation. While I wouldn’t suggest going here on a whim, or every time you’re looking for a getaway in Ottawa, I definitely do believe now more than ever after staying a night, that everyone should give themselves the opportunity to stay at this historic landmark.

Self-indulge; you’ll be happy that you did.

Thanks Mike! We can’t wait to hear what you treat yourself with next!