Mike hits up Ottawa’s Hotel Indigo (and loves it)

 

Hotel Indigo

Mike Cullen is a young public servant who is also a regular contributor to (Cult)ure Magazine as a music editorialist. His passions include music, coffee, writing, travel and comic books.

As part of my birthday gift from my lovely and talented boyfriend (trademark pending), I was treated to a night at the Hotel Indigo, a boutique style hotel in the heart of downtown Ottawa.

Hotel Indigo has a spectacular skylight view from the lobby, spaciousness floor plans and an overall quiet, comfortable style through the entire building. I knew it was going to be a higher end experience, but I honestly had no idea just how beautiful the hotel was on the inside.

Mike has a weird thing for hotel bathrooms. He loved this one.

The rooms feature real hardwood floors, and are tastefully done in Mediterranean-inspired blues and greens. In fact, everything about the hotel inspired serenity and relaxation. My two favourite features were the king-sized bed (I love a big bed), and the spacious bathroom with its very cool designed shower (I also have this weird thing for hotel bathrooms).

Being the hotel nut that I am, I am usually pretty snobby when it comes to the hotels that I visit (nothing less than a four star as my friends, and now boyfriend, know). While I may not spend a lot of time in a hotel room, especially when I’m in another city, I want to ensure that the time I do spent is comfortable and completely relaxing. This particular hotel offered both in spades. It’s in the heart of the action (only three blocks from Parliament, and roughly an equal distance to the Rideau Centre/Rideau Canal), yet it feels like you’re somewhere else entirely; we never heard the outside world (though we were in the middle of the hotel), but even in the lobby, traffic on the busy Metcalfe Street through fare could not be heard.

Whether you are coming in from outside the city, or just looking for that weekend escape within the city, you should really consider treating yourself to a night (or a few) at Hotel Indigo.

Thanks for providing this review Mike! Do you have a favourite space in the city you want to write about? Send us a note!