The search for Ottawa’s perfect cupcake

Hilary Duff (blog/Twitter) is an indescribably quirky 20-year-old who loves multimedia journalism, cycling, food blogging, and churning massive amounts of baked goods out of her cramped student kitchen. When she’s not living the chaotically busy life of a Carleton journalism student, she also enjoys winter jogging and exploring the ins and outs of her Ottawa neighbourhood.

Ladies and gentlemen of the blogging world, I am going where no blogger has gone before.  In a mission of tastiness and partial disregard for my health, I hereby begin my search for Ottawa’s perfect cupcake.

Hilary Duff

So how is this going to work?

Well, I plan on visiting all the cupcake shops/bakeries in Ottawa so I can relay my findings back to you through the magic of words and pictures.

But here’s a full disclosure:  I’m not pretending to be any sort of food critic or cupcake connoisseur.  Heck, I’m just a university student who thinks that any type of cheap dessert is awesome.  But I am, dear readers, a cupcake lover, and I hope this love alone can help me in naming the top cupcake in the city.

I believe that eating a cupcake is an experience.

This being said, in addition to judging cupcakes on their level of decadence, I’ll also be ranking the overall atmosphere and vibe of cupcake’s environment (read: I will sit in your bakery and lurk about until I get a feel for the place).

My goal is to hit up at least one bakery a week (maybe two if I’m feeling really ambitious and sugar deprived). Also, since I will likely be travelling to some bakeries out in the middle of nowhere, I will probably have some pretty decent OC Transpo adventure stories to share…

Last but not least, I know that Ottawa has plenty of privately operated bakeries/caterers, so if you want me to try your cupcake you’ll have to let me know!

Please feel free to comment on this post or tweet at me (@hilaryduffcu).

Let the Ottawa Cupcake Challenge begin!