Date night: Shelly hits up Absinthe on Wellington

Photo Credit: Absinthe Cafe

Shelly Lyonnais is a local elementary school teacher who has been living in Ottawa on and off for 20 years.  She spends her weekends in search of Ottawa’s great date night dinner locations.

Who doesn’t love date night?

I don’t know about you, but when my husband and I are home together we are often in different rooms, watching TV or working on laptops. So our date night is a must; once a week we unplug and venture out around Ottawa in search of delicious food.

When we started this tradition my husband was not as adventurous with his food as I was, so we started out trying places that have “safe” foods on the menu (read: steak), he could enjoy his favourites and I could experiment. But, over the years he has begun to try new things and now steak is just one of the meals that he enjoys among many others.

Photo Credit: Absinthe Cafe

This past weekend we made a reservation at Absinthe on Wellington Street West. (note: I absolutely love that they have an online reservation option!)

Upon being seated we were served water in an old Absinthe bottle, little espresso cups of soup and bread made in house.  The warm, creamy soup had parsnip and apple in it, and was the perfect way to start a meal on a cold and snowy night.

After that, we decided to order cocktails because we wanted to try the Absinthe. My husband asked for a Mohito which was very minty and I ordered Pat’s Punch, it was red and reminded me of the beach.  These drinks were a little pricy, but we figured that it was a fun splurge and they were super tasty to boot.

We started the meal by sharing the charcuterie, which came on a wooden board with little areas of goodness.  There was wild game terrine, pork confit rillette, porcetta, devilled quail egg, celery root remoulade, cauliflower, carrots, pickles, prosciutto, mortadella and toast. Everything on that board was so incredibly delicious! I highly recommend it.

My husband ordered the steak frites as his entree, the steak was medium rare (perhaps a bit more rare) and came with green beans… all of which he loved.  He also upgraded his frites to poutine ( fries, cheese curds and shredded pork).

My entree was a drop filet burger.  The plate was divided into three distinct areas; a burger, salad and poutine.  Everything was tasty – the perfect meal to eat slowly and savour each bite.  Much to my husband’s enjoyment, I had to ask him to help me finish this meal and even still we couldn’t.

We definitely enjoyed our experience and would go back in a second… but I also look forward to next week’s adventure to a brand new spot!

Thanks Shelly! We look forward to hearing about more of your Ottawa date nights!