Surprise in the mail: Capital Dining by Anne DesBrisay!

I love mail!

When I arrived home from work today, I had a mysterious package waiting for me from a good friend and business colleague: a signed copy of Capital Dining by Anne DesBrisay, third edition.

I’m not sure there is a better way to say happy new year than to encourage friends to get out and enjoy the delicious food and wonderful dining atmospheres this city has to offer – so a big thanks to Derek!

The book serves as Ottawa’s 2011 restaurant guide, featuring more than “200 top restaurants, casual eats, and gourmet stops in Ottawa, Gatineau and the Valley.” DesBrisay has been sampling restaurants and chronicling her experiences in a weekly Ottawa Citizen column since 1993, and is the senior culinary judge for the Gold Medal Plates in Ottawa-Gatineau.

I’m excited! What do you think – just flip the book open to a random page every weekend and see where it takes me?

If you want to join me on my culinary adventure you can pick up the book in area book stores and specialty food shops , as well as through General Store Publishing House.

Cheers!