A day in the life of an Ottawa artist

I first met Karina Bergmans in October 2008, when I wrote a profile of her for the Ottawa Citizen, and last week, she was kind enough to offer herself up for a Q&A. She also had the idea of doing a “day in the life” piece…thanks for contributing Karina!

My days as an artist are always varied and very rarely the same.  Even if I have consecutive days at the studio, I mix it up with my modes of transportation.  Sometimes drive, sometimes bus/OTrain and I bike as much as I can.  It has been a nice November, and I love a late season bike ride to the studio.  Until the snow flies, it is good to get out and enjoy some of the great bike trails we have in the city.  My route takes me through the Arboretum, part of the Experimental Farm, near Dow’s Lake and the Carleton University’s end of the canal.

One of my favorite places to grab a bite to eat is at Dirienzo’s at 11 Beech St, just west of Preston Street.  They are best known for their great $5.00 sandwiches, but I love their yummy pasta dishes as well:, cannelloni, manicotti, ravioli, or a stuffed pepper, $5.00 each, you can’t go wrong. If you are there on Saturdays, make sure you save room for the tasty pastries.

At the studio, it is cut, sew, cut, sew.

If I need a break from the studio, a walk along Preston Street is always welcomed. A new public art commission by c.j. fleury was recently unveiled along Preston Street. This photo is the top of a sculpture featuring an eggplant and fruit. I work part time for the City’s Public Art Program which keeps me busy with art installations, and it is great to see the community ornamented with public art.

To get back to the studio, there is pathway between Preston Street and the OTrain tracks which I like to walk on for a change of scene from Preston Street.

Back to the studio for more sewing.  It is fast becoming Fuzzy Gaiter season again. These cozy, fun-fur boot covers will make you cute and keep you warm. This year, the gaiter design has been modified with snaps at the back easy removal. They are available on www.KBergmans.com or find me at the Sandy Hill Craft Show on November 21 or Idle Hands on November 28!
Do you want to tell us about a typical day in your Ottawa life? Send us a note!