Welcome to Local Tourist Ottawa!

Autumn in Ottawa, September 2008

Why hello there!

Welcome to Local Tourist Ottawa, a brand new blog with a mission to feature the best of Ottawa and encourage others to share what they believe makes this city great. Here you will find features on your favourite people, places and things – but most of all – you will find a little bit of motivation to get out and enjoy Canada’s capital.

If you know me, you know that I absolutely love autumn in Ottawa. I love the colours, I love the smells, I love the pumpkin-flavoured beer.

In September 2008, I was out with some friends taking family portraits in the leaves when I saw from the corner of my eye the man and woman in the photo above. I grabbed this snapshot quickly –  to this day I still have no idea who they are, but every time I look at this photo it makes me smile. This shot represents what this blog is all about to me: getting out, enjoying the best of this city, and sharing it with everyone else.

Amy and I are just getting started here at Local Tourist Ottawa, and we would love to hear your suggestions for the blog and your stories of the city.

Contact us anytime… and enjoy!

You can also follow us on Twitter at @LTOttawa.